Howard County Library System
« August 2013 »
S M T W T F S
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Well and Wise Events
Meet the Author
Schools closed
 
Criteria More Choices | See All

Choose branches:
Choose types of events:
Choose age groups:
All
Central
East Columbia
Elkridge
Glenwood
Miller
Savage
Other Locations
All
Arts and Music
Author events
Book clubs
Children's classes
Contests
Cultural Connections
Films
Gardening
History
Projects and Pursuits
Science and Math
Tech Training
Well & Wise
Your Money
Other
All
Children
Preschool
K-5
Teens
Families
Adults



Keyword:
 

Upcoming Go to Today | View Next 7 Days


Date Event Description
08/15/13
10:00 AM
Glenwood Branch

Download to Calendar
Journey Cover to Cover
Book discussion, 3rd Thursdays; 10 - 11:30 am.

Jun 20 - The Blue Sweater: Bridging the Gap between Rich and Poor in an Interconnected World by Jacqueline Novogratz
Jul 18 - The Lake by Banana Yoshimoto
Aug 15 - The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway

No registration required.
08/15/13
10:15 AM
Miller Branch

Download to Calendar
Play Partners
Stories, baby games, and musical activities. Ages infant-23 months with adult; 20-30 min.

No registration required.
08/15/13
10:30 AM
Central Branch

Download to Calendar
Kindergarten, Here We Come
Stories and activities to help mark that all important first day, including boarding a real school bus. For children entering Kindergarten this fall; 45- 60 min. Cosponsored by Friends of Howard County Library and Howard County Public School System.

*Registration is required. Register online or by calling 410.313.7880.
08/15/13
10:30 AM
Miller Branch

Download to Calendar
Tea and Tomes (Session I)
Book discussion, 3rd Thursdays; 10:30 - 11:30 am.

Session I:
Jun 20 - Faithful Place by Tana French
Jul 18 - Customer recommendations - Please bring books to share.
Aug 15 - The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach

No registration required.
08/15/13
11:30 AM
Miller Branch

Download to Calendar
Play Partners
Stories, baby games, and musical activities. Ages infant-23 months with adult; 20-30 min.

No registration required.
08/15/13
12:00 PM
Central Branch

Download to Calendar
Noontime Books
Book discussion, 3rd Thursdays; 12 - 1 pm.

Jun 20 - Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann
Jul 18 - The Newlyweds by Nell Freudenberger
Aug 15 - The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

No registration required.
08/15/13
2:00 PM
Glenwood Branch

Download to Calendar
C.S.I. Owl Pellets
With a focus on ecology and biology, students study the nature of food chains and the role of predators in the ecosystem by dissecting the sterilized pellets of Barn Owls. Use investigative skills to figure out what the owl ate! Ages 9-17.

A teen Sci-Tech class.

*Registration is required. Register online or by calling 410.313.5579.
08/15/13
4:30 PM
Miller Branch

Download to Calendar
Percy Jackson Birthday Party
Have you read the Percy Jackson series? Celebrate his birthday with trivia, games, and a craft. Ages 9-13; 60 min. Ticket required.

*Limited space; tickets available at Children's Desk 15 minutes before class.
08/15/13
6:30 PM
Miller Branch

Download to Calendar
Improv Under the Stars
Join us in the Enchanted Garden for skits, games, fun, and laughter. Ages 11-17.

*Registration is required. Register online or by calling 410.313.1950.
08/15/13
7:00 PM
Central Branch

Download to Calendar
Pajama Time
Stories and music just before bedtime. Pajamas, teddy bears, and blankets welcome. All ages; 30 min. Ticket required.

*Limited space; tickets available at Children's Desk 15 minutes before class.
08/15/13
7:00 PM
East Columbia Branch

Download to Calendar
Self-Publishing: 101 to Grad School
Self-publishers follow in the tradition of Benjamin Franklin, Carl Sandburg, and John Grisham. Learn how to publish a quality product and how to promote and market it. Presented by author Eileen Haavik McIntire.

Eileen Haavik McIntire is co-owner of Summit Crossroads Press, which publishes parenting books; and its imprint, Amanita Books, which publishes fiction. She is the author of two novels, The 90s Club & the Hidden Staircase and The Shadow of the Rock. She is the past president of the MidAtlantic Book Publishers Association, and current secretary of the Maryland WritersÂ’ Association.

*Registration is required. Register online or by calling 410.313.7700.
08/15/13
7:00 PM
East Columbia Branch

Download to Calendar
Family Movies
Films the entire family can enjoy. Free popcorn and drinks. All ages. Sponsored by Friends of Howard County Library.

Jun 20 - Brave (PG)
Jul 18 - The Pirates Band of Misfits (PG)
Aug 15 - Wreck-it Ralph (PG)

No registration required.
08/15/13
7:30 PM
Central Branch

Download to Calendar
English Conversation Class
Is English your second (or third) language? Practice speaking and listening in a small group. Thursdays; 7:30 - 8:30 pm, Project Literacy Resource Center.

No registration required.

Subscribe to this feed...Subscribe to this feed